Agenda Item No: 9(c) Report No: 65/15

Report Title: Appointments of Representatives to Serve on Outside

and Joint Bodies 2015/16

Report To: Council Date: 20 May 2015

Wards Affected: All

Report By: Leader of the Council Elect

The Council appoints representatives to serve on a number of outside and joint bodies and, in accordance with the Council Procedure Rules, the Head of Democratic Services asked all councillors to indicate on which organisations they would be interested in serving.

The Leader of the Council Elect (following consultation with the Leaders of the other Political Groups) **Recommends** that the appointment of representatives to serve on outside and joint bodies be as set out in the table below:

Outside Body (annual appointment unless otherwise stated)	Representative(s)
3VA Board (Voluntary Action Lewes)	J Peterson
Age UK East Sussex Governing Body	R Turner
Chailey Common Nature Reserve Management Committee	S B Davy
Citizens' Advice Bureaux, Lewes & Seaford	P Gander
Coastal West Sussex and Greater Brighton Strategic Planning Board (Rep should be Cabinet Member for Planning)	A T Jones
Community Safety Partnership (2 reps – 1 should be Cabinet Member whose portfolio includes Communities)	E C Merry (Chair) I A Nicholson
Court of the University of Sussex (Rep should be Chair of the Council)	Chair of the Council Elect
East Sussex Flood Risk Panel	B Giles
East Sussex Gypsy and Travellers Forum (2 reps)	J M Harrison-Hicks R Turner
East Sussex Health and Well-Being Board	L Wallraven
East Sussex Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Rep cannot be member of Cabinet)	S Adeniji

Outside Body (annual appointment unless otherwise stated)	Representative(s)
Greater Brighton Economic Board:	
Board member	R Blackman
(Rep should be Leader of the Council)	T Diagraman
Independent Call-in Panel member	
(1 rep and 1 appointed sub – rep and sub cannot be on the Board or involved in decision being called-in)	VACANT VACANT (sub)
iESE Transformation Ltd	R Blackman
(Rep should be Leader of the Council)	
Impact Seaford	R Blackman
Joint Portfolio Holders Strategic Planning Group (Rep should be Cabinet Member for Planning)	A T Jones
Lewes Joint Parking Board (2 reps)	R Turner L Wallraven
Local Government Association:  • General Assembly  (Rep should be Leader of the Council)	R Blackman
Coastal Issues Special Interest Group	B Giles
District Councils' Network     (1 rep and 1 appointed sub)	I Linington N Enever (sub)
Seaford Head Local Nature Reserve Management Committee (2 reps)	B Bovington P L Franklin
South Downs National Park Authority (Rep appointed for 4 years, expires 2019)	A T Jones
South East England Councils (1 rep and 1 appointed sub – rep and sub should be Cabinet Members)	R Maskell A X Smith (sub)
Sussex County Playing Fields Association	A Loraine
Sussex Downs and Low Weald LEADER Local Action Group	H J F Sheppard
Sussex Police and Crime Panel	I A Nicholson
(1 rep and 1 appointed sub)	A X Smith (sub)
Wave Trust Leisure Board	C R O'Keeffe
West Sussex Joint Planning Board (Rep should be Cabinet Member for Planning)	A T Jones

Joint Body (annual appointment unless otherwise stated)	Proportionality (where appropriate) Con-LibDem-Green-Ind (see Report No 64/15)	Representative(s)
Housing Consultative Panel (4 reps and Cabinet Member with responsibility for Housing as ex-officio member)	4 (3 - 1 - 0 - 0)	P Gander J M Harrison-Hicks A Loraine VACANT (Lib Dem seat) (plus R Maskell, Cabinet Member for Housing, ex officio)
Landport Bottom Management Committee (4 reps)	4 (3 - 1 - 0 - 0 becomes 2 - 1 - 0 - 1, see paragraph 13 of Report No 64/15)	VACANT (Cons seat) VACANT (Cons seat) VACANT (Lib Dem seat) S A Catlin
Planning Service User Group (3 reps – 1 should be Cabinet Member for Planning)	3 (2 - 1 - 0 - 0)	A T Jones VACANT (Cons seat) VACANT (Lib Dem seat)

Following a recent review of Outside Bodies, the Head of Democratic Services has been informed that the following Outside Bodies will no longer be appointed to from 2015/16:

- Action in Rural Sussex
- Asham Literary Endowment Trust
- Community Transport for the Lewes Area Limited Management Committee
- East Sussex Strategic Partnership
- English Heritage Heritage Champion
- Lewes Conservation Area Advisory Group
- Lewes Town Partnership
- Rural Services Network/SPARSE
- Seaford Community Partnership
- Sussex Community Foundation.

Councillor R Blackman Leader of the Council Elect 19 May 2015